Lanka Premier League 2024 full schedule out; Dambulla, Pallekele, Colombo to host encounters from July 1

The full schedule for Lanka Premier League 2024 (LPL 2024) was released by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) on Monday, April 8. Lanka Premier League is the franchise T20 league of Sri Lanka. A total of three venues have been selected to host all the matches of Lanka Premier League 2024. 

The LPL 2024 kickstarts on July 1 with the opening game at Pallekele. B-Love Kandy and Dambulla Aura will take on each other in the first match. The opening ceremony at the stadium will precede the match. 

Lanka Premier League 2024 is the fifth edition of the franchise tournament that began in 2020. Last season, B-Love Candy crushed Dambulla Aura in the final by 5 wickets to clinch their first LPL title. In the last three editions from 2020 to 2022, Jaffna Kings won the trophies. 

Lanka Premier League 2024 to witness clash between 5 teams from July 1 

Lanka Premier League 2024 will witness a clash between five teams from July 1. There are- B-Love, Colombo Strikers, Dambulla Aura, Galle Titans, and Jaffna Kings. The league will observe a total of 24 games between five teams including the final. The LPL 2024 final will take place on July 21 in Colombo. There is a reserve day on July 22 for the final, in case it gets affected by rain. 

The three venues that will host all the matches of LPL 2024 are Dambulla International Cricket Stadium in Dambulla, Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Pallekele, and R. Premadasa Cricket Stadium in Colombo. Most of the days in Lanka Premier League 2024 will witness double-headers. 

The first phase will observe back-to-back games at Pallekelle International Cricket Stadium. The venue will shift to Dambulla for the next phases. Towards the end, Colombo will host all the matches including the playoffs and the final. 

Also Read:  Kamindu Mendis and Maia Bouchier clinch ICC Player of the Month awards for March 2024

SLC announced LPL 2024 last month 

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announced last month that Lanka Premier League 2024 will be played in July in an official press release. However, they released the complete schedule on Monday, April 8. 

“The 5th edition of the Lanka Premier League 2024 will be held this year from July 1st to 21st. The five-team competition will consist of a total of 24 games”.

“The first round will have 20 matches, while the final round will have 4 matches, including qualifier 1 & 2 and the eliminator. Each team will consist a minimum of 20 players and a maximum of 24 players with 6 overseas players”.

“The Lanka Premier League, Sri Lanka’s topmost T20 domestic competition with an international flavor, is a much-awaited competition among cricket lovers”, the official press release by Sri Lanka Cricket read. 

Also Read: Not Andre Russell or Heinrich Klaasen! Jasprit Bumrah fears this West Indies star

Notably, LPL 2024 will follow ICC T20 World Cup 2024, set to take place in June in West Indies and United States of America (USA). Sri Lanka Sri Lanka is part of Group D in the ICC tournament with teams like South Africa, Bangladesh,  Netherlands, and Nepal part of their pool. 

Leave a Comment