Delhi Capitals register first win of IPL 2024 with 20-run win over Chennai Super Kings

Tags: IPL 2024,
Delhi Capitals vs Chennai Super Kings, 13th Match at Visakhapatnam, Mar 31, 2024,
Chennai XI,
Delhi XI

Published on: Apr 01, 2024

| Commentary
| Graphs

Delhi Capitals (DC) registered their first win of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 by beating defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 20 runs at the Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium in Visakhapatnam on Sunday, March 31. With the win, Delhi Capitals registered their first triumph in IPL 2024.

Batting first after winning the toss, Delhi Capitals posted 191 for 5 on the board as skipper Rishabh Pant found rhythm with 51 off 32 balls, while David Warner hammered 52 of 35. Warner’s opening partner Prithvi Shaw also contributed an impressive 43 off only 27 balls. In the chase, Chennai Super Kings were held to 171/6. Mukesh Kumar (3/21) and Khaleel Ahmed (2/21) starred with the ball for Delhi.

Delhi Capitals got off to an excellent start with the bat as Warner and Shaw featured in a 93-run opening wicket stand in under 10 overs. Both batters were in excellent hitting from as Warner struck five fours and three sixes and Shaw four fours and two maximums.

The partnership ended when Matheesha Pathirana took a brilliant one-handed catch as Warner attempted a reverse lap off Mustafizur Rahman’s bowling. Shaw also fell soon after, nicking a quicker delivery from Ravindra Jadeja as he went for a cut. Pathirana cleaned up Mitchell Marsh (18) and Tristan Stubbs (0) in the same over with brilliant deliveries.

At 134/4, Delhi Capitals needed something special from their captain and Rishabh Pant delivered, clubbing four fours and three sixes in his 51 off 32 balls. His knock included his iconic one-handed six as well. His fine knock ended when he became Pathirana’s third victim.

In the chase, Chennai Super Kings got off to a horror start as Khaleel Ahmed dismissed Ruturaj Gaikwad (1) and Rachin Ravindra (2). Ajinkya Rahane (45 off 30) and Daryl Mitchell (34 off 26) added 68 for the third wicket to lift Chennai’s hope. Mitchell, however, chipped a catch to Axar Patel, while Mukesh dismissed Rahane, Shivam Dube (18) and Sameer Rizvi (0) to completely derail the chase.

There was some consolation for CSK fans as MS Dhoni smashed 37 not out off 16 in his first visit to the crease as a batter in IPL 2024. Dhoni slammed four fours and three sixes as he turned back the clock even as Ravindra Jadeja was unbeaten on 21 off 17.

–By A Cricket Correspondent

Leave a Comment