Cheteshwar Pujara’s 110 takes Saurashtra to 242-4 against Rajasthan in Ranji Trophy | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: Seasoned batter Cheteshwar Pujara exhibited his class by slamming his second hundred of the ongoing season. Playing for Saurashtra, Pujara’s century guided his team to a comfortable 242 for four on the opening day of the Ranji Trophy Group A match against Rajasthan in Jaipur.
The 36-year-old, with an illustrious career comprising 103 Tests and 262 First-Class matches, compiled a composed innings of 110 runs off 230 balls.During his knock, Pujara hit nine boundaries, showcasing his trademark patience and technique.
This century marked his 62nd in first-class cricket, further solidifying his reputation as a prolific run-scorer.
Saurashtra initially found themselves in a challenging position at 74 for 3, but Pujara, along with Sheldon Jackson (78 not out), turned the tide with a partnership of 168 runs for the fourth wicket. Pujara’s innings came to an end in the 90th over, being the last wicket to fall.
Sheldon Jackson remained unbeaten with a resilient 176-ball innings, adorned with six boundaries and two sixes. At the close of play, Jackson was at the crease, and Arpit Vasavada (0) would join him when the match resumes on the following day.
Rajasthan’s left-arm spinner Kukna Ajay Singh claimed two wickets, while Aniket Choudhary and Manav Suthar took one each, contributing to their team’s bowling efforts.
Vidarbha dominate Maharashtra
In Pune, Yash Thakur snapped three wickets as Vidarbha produced a disciplined bowling effort to dismiss Maharashtra for 208 and then reached 111 for one.
While fast bowler Thakur (3/68) rocked the top-order, pacer Lalit M Yadav (2/32) and left-arm spinner Aditya Sarwate (2/43) took two wickets each after their skipper Akshay Wadkar won the toss and elected to bowl.
Pavan Shah (35), Dhanraj Shinde (30) and Manoj Ingale (36) scored 30-plus scores but Maharashtra couldn’t weave any meaningful partnerships.
In reply, Dhruv Shorey (55 not out) scored an unbeaten fifty and was at the crease along with Yash Rathod (29 not out) at the break.
Brief Scores:
Saurashtra 242 for 4 in 89.3 overs (Cheteshwar Pujara 110; K Ajay Singh 2/86) vs Rajasthan in Jaipur.
Haryana 338 for 6 in 89 overs (Ankit Kumar 109; Anukul Roy 2/59, Utkarsh Singh 2/60) vs Jharkhand in Jamshedpur.
Vidarbha 111 for 1 in 24 overs (Dhruv Shorey 55 not out; Ashay Palkar 1/27) trail by 97 runs against Maharashtra 208 allout in 56.4 overs (Manoj Ingale 36; yash Thakur 3/68) in Pune.
Services 191 for 3 in 54 overs (Ravi Chauhan 87 not out, Rajat Paliwal 62 not out; Kangabam Priyojit Singh 1/11) lead by 124 runs against Manipur 67all out in 34.2 overs (Ronald Longjam 30; Varun Choudhary 3/13, Poonia 3/27) in Anand, Gujarat.
(With PTI inputs)

Leave a Comment