Zaka Ashraf resigns as Pakistan Cricket Board chief

Tags: Pakistan,
PCB Chairman Zaka Ashrafs

Published on: Jan 20, 2024

Zaka Ashraf, the Chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Management Committee, on Friday, January 19, announced his decision to resign from the post. Ashraf opened up on his decision to quit after a managing committee meeting of the board in Lahore on Friday. He had taken over as PCB chief role from Najam Sethi in June last year. Sethi, himself, came into the scheme of things after Ramiz Raja was sacked in an unceremonious manner.

As per a report in ANI, Ashraf, while chairing the management committee meeting, thanked PCB members and Patron Caretaker Prime Minister Anwaar-ul-Haq Kakar for backing him during his tenure as chief of Pakistan’s cricket board.

“At the end of the meeting, Mr Zaka Ashraf announced that he had decided to tender his resignation as chairman and member of the MC to the honourable Patron Caretaker Prime Minister Anwaar-ul-Haq Kakar. In his concluding remarks, Mr Zaka Ashraf, thanked the honourable Patron PCB for the confidence and trust reposed by him and extended his best wishes and prayers for the betterment of Pakistan and Pakistan cricket,” a PCB statement was released, confirming the development of Ashraf quitting.

Pakistan did not have a memorable run on the field during Ashraf’s short but eventful tenure as PCB head. The national men’s team could not make it to the final of the Asia Cup and also failed to qualify for the knockouts of the 2023 ODI World Cup in India, which was eventually won by Australia.

His term was riddled with controversies over infighting in team and multiple reports of verbal tussles in the dressing room. Following the World Cup debacle, Babar Azam stepped down as captain from all three formats of the game. Ashraf also quoted controversy for his ‘Dushman Mulk’ (enemy nation) remark ahead of the World Cup.

Pakistan are currently in New Zealand for a five-match T20I series. They are having a disastrous run under Shaheen Shah Afridi, having lost the first four matches. In the fourth T20I that was played at the Hagley Oval in Christchurch on Friday, the visitors went down to the Kiwis by seven wickets.

Batting first, Pakistan put up 158/5 on the board in their 20 overs despite Mohammad Rizwan’s 90 off 63 balls. Afridi claimed three early wickets with the ball, but Daryl Mitchell (72 not out off 44) and Glenn Phillips (70 not out off 52) took New Zealand home in 18.1 overs.

–By A Cricket Correspondent

Leave a Comment