WPL 2024 [Twitter reactions]: Smriti Mandhana, Renuka Thakur shine in RCB’s thumping win over Gujarat Giants

In the fifth match of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2024, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) faced off against Gujarat Giants (GG) at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Winning the toss, RCB opted to bowl first, seeking to restrict the opposition’s batting lineup.

Gujarat Giants Innings:

Gujarat Giants started their innings with a target of setting a competitive score. However, they managed to put up a total of 107/7 in their allotted 20 overs. Despite contributions from several batters, including Dayalan Hemalatha‘s notable 31 runs off 25 balls, the team struggled to build substantial partnerships.

RCB’s bowling attack was led by left-arm spinner Sophie Molineux, who claimed three wickets, supported by Renuka Thakur and Georgia Wareham, who picked up two and one wicket respectively. Their disciplined bowling restricted Gujarat’s scoring opportunities.

RCB Innings

Chasing a modest target, RCB showcased a dominant batting display. Smriti Mandhana led the charge with a fiery knock of 43 runs off 27 balls, supported by Sabbhineni Meghana‘s unbeaten contribution of 36 runs off 28 balls. Ellyse Perry’s quickfire 23 not out off 14 balls ensured the team reached the target comfortably.

The Giants’ bowling unit struggled to contain the opposition’s batting onslaught, with only Ashleigh Gardner and Tanuja Kanwar managing to pick up the wickets.

In the end, RCB cruised to victory, reaching the target of 110 runs with ease in just 12.3 overs, securing an emphatic eight-wicket win over GG.

Also READ: Twitter reactions – Marizanne Kapp, Shafali Verma sizzle as Delhi Capitals steamroll UP Warriorz in WPL 2024

With this convincing victory, RCB continue their winning streak in the WPL 2024, while GG will look to regroup and bounce back in their upcoming matches.

Here’s how Twitter reacted:

Also WATCH: Sobhana Asha breaks into tears after getting Player of the Match award – RCB vs UPW, WPL 2024

This article was first published at WomenCricket.com, a Cricket Times company.

Leave a Comment