Virat Kohli shatters IPL records to go past Chris Gayle and MS Dhoni | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: Batting maestro Virat Kohli is in ominous touch, after coming from a long break, as he surpassed Chris Gayle to record most sixes for Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB).
Kohli, who has hit 241 sixes so far, leads the list for RCB followed by Gayle (239), AB de Villiers (238), Glenn Maxwell (67) and Faf du Plessis (50).

Kohli stands as a unique figure in the IPL, having played solely for one franchise since the league’s inception in 2008.

As a result, all 241 of his sixes in the tournament have been scored while representing RCB.
ALSO READ: Watch IPL in Qatar
List for most sixes for RCB in IPL

  • Virat Kohli – 241
  • Chris Gayle – 239
  • AB de Villiers – 238
  • Glenn Maxwell – 67
  • Faf du Plessis – 50

In the process, Kohli (241) also overtook Indian legend MS Dhoni (239) to jump to fourth spot in the overall list. Gayle sits right at the top with 357 sixes to his name in IPL followed by Rohit Sharma (261) and AB de Villiers (251).
List for most sixes in IPL

  • Chris Gayle – 357
  • Rohit Sharma – 261
  • AB de Villiers – 251
  • Virat Kohli – 241
  • MS Dhoni – 239

Kohli hit an unbeaten 83 to power his team to a total of 182/6 with the help of four sixes and the same number of fours against Kolkata Knight Riders. The RCB star also jumped to top spot, displacing SRH’s Heinrich Klaasen, with a total of 181 runs in the race for Orange cap.

Leave a Comment