Twitter reactions: Sai Sudharsan, bowlers sizzle in Gujarat Titans’ thrilling win over Mumbai Indians

In a thrilling encounter at the Narendra Modi Stadium, the Gujarat Titans clashed with the Mumbai Indians in the fifth match of the Indian Premier League 2024. The contest went down to the wire where Gujarat registered a thrilling victory

Sai Sudharsan shines with the bat

Mumbai Indians won the toss and elected to bowl first. The Gujarat Titans put up a competitive total of 168/6 in their allotted 20 overs. Shubman Gill (31 runs off 22 balls) and Sai Sudharsan (45 runs off 39 balls) provided a solid start with valuable contributions. Wriddhiman Saha (19 runs off 15 balls) and Rahul Tewatia (22 runs off 15 balls) added crucial runs in the middle order. However, it was Azmatullah Omarzai‘s quick cameo of 17 runs off 11 balls that gave the Titans a much-needed boost towards the end.

Disciplined bowling helps Gujarat seal the deal

In response, the Mumbai Indians faced a challenging target of 169 runs to win. The Mumbai Indians’ chase started on a shaky note as Ishan Kishan departed for a duck. However, former skipper Rohit Sharma steadied the innings with a quickfire 43 runs off 29 balls, including 7 fours and 1 six. Contributions from Naman Dhir (20 runs off 10 balls) and Tilak Varma (25 runs off 19 balls) kept Mumbai in the hunt.

But it was Dewald Brevis‘ impressive knock of 46 runs off 38 balls, comprising 2 fours and 3 sixes, that kept Mumbai’s hopes alive. However, the Titans’ bowlers kept the pressure on, with Azmatullah Omarzai (2 wickets) and Umesh Yadav (2 wickets) making crucial breakthroughs. Spencer Johnson and Mohit Sharma also chipped in with two wickets each. Despite a valiant effort from the Mumbai Indians, they fell short of the target by just 6 runs, finishing at 162/9 in their 20 overs.

Also WATCH: IPL 2024 – Hardik Pandya gets booed by crowd at Narendra Modi Stadium during GT vs MI clash

Here is how Twitter reacted:

Also READ: Who is Kwena Maphaka ? Mumbai Indians’ new pace sensation for the IPL 2024

Leave a Comment