Twitter reactions: Harmanpreet Kaur, S Sanjana sizzle in Mumbai Indians’ thrilling win over Delhi Capitals in WPL 2024 opener

In a thrilling encounter, Mumbai Indians Women emerged victorious against Delhi Capitals Women in the first match of the Women’s Premier League 2024. The match took place at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, with Mumbai Indians won the toss and elected to bowl.

Alice Capsey guides Delhi Capitals to a formidable total

Delhi Capitals Women had a solid start with Meg Lanning scoring 31 runs off 25 balls, including three fours and one six. However, Shafali Verma struggled, managing only one run off eight balls. Alice Capsey played a brilliant innings, smashing 75 runs off 53 balls, which included eight fours and three sixes. Jemimah Rodrigues also contributed with a quickfire 42 off 24 balls. In the end, Delhi Capitals Women posted a challenging total of 171/5 in their allotted 20 overs.

Mumbai Indians Women bowlers put up a commendable performance, with Natalie Sciver and Amelia Kerr picking up two wickets each. Shabnim Ismail also chipped in with a wicket. However, the bowlers had a tough time containing the Delhi Capitals Women batters, conceding some crucial runs.

Harmanpreet Kaur shines with the bat

Chasing a target of 172 runs, Mumbai Indians Women got off to a shaky start as Hayley Matthews was dismissed for a duck. However, Yastika Bhatia steadied the innings with a well-constructed knock of 57 runs off 45 balls, which included eight fours and two sixes. Natalie and Harmanpreet Kaur also played important roles, scoring 19 and 55 runs respectively.

But it was S Sanjana who stole the show with her heroic last-ball six. With five runs needed off the final ball, Sanjana displayed nerves of steel and smashed a maximum, propelling Mumbai Indians Women to a thrilling four-wicket victory. Her unbeaten six runs off just one ball turned the game in Mumbai Indians’ favor.

Among the Delhi Capitals Women bowlers, Arundhati Reddy was the most successful, claiming two wickets. Marizanne Kapp and Shikha Pandey also picked up a wicket each, but their efforts weren’t enough to secure a win for their team.

Also WATCH: Kartik Aaryan, Sidharth Malhotra, Shahrukh Khan and other stars entertain fans in WPL 2024 opening ceremony

Here is how Twitter reacted:

Also READ: WPL 2024 – Fans in delight as Shah Rukh Khan and other Bollywood celebrities lights up the opening ceremony

This article was first published at, a Cricket Times company.

Leave a Comment