Top 5 players who won Orange Cap and MVP Award in same IPL edition

The 17th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is set to commence with a thrilling encounter between the defending champions, Chennai Super Kings (CSK), and the three-time finalist, Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB). Scheduled to kick off on Match 22, this highly anticipated clash marks the beginning of an exciting season where ten teams will battle it out for the coveted IPL trophy. As cricket fans eagerly await the opening match, anticipation is running high as fans gear up to witness the spectacle unfold at the cricketing extravaganza.

Significance of the Orange Cap

The Orange Cap is a prestigious accolade awarded to the player who scores the highest number of runs throughout the IPL season. It serves as a symbol of batting excellence and consistency, highlighting the standout performer with the willow. Securing the Orange Cap is not only a personal achievement for the player but also holds immense significance for the team’s campaign. A batter in possession of the Orange Cap often becomes the linchpin of their team’s batting lineup, providing crucial runs and stability at the top of the order. Their ability to score runs consistently can propel their team to victory and set the tone for a successful campaign in the tournament.

Most Valuable Player (MVP) award

The Most Valuable Player (MVP) award is bestowed upon the player who makes the most significant impact on the IPL season across various facets of the game, including batting, bowling, fielding, and overall match-winning performances. Unlike the Orange Cap, which solely focuses on batting prowess, the MVP award recognizes the all-round contributions of a player throughout the tournament. Whether it’s scoring crucial runs, taking vital wickets, effecting run-outs, or delivering under pressure situations, the MVP embodies the essence of a true match-winner and plays a pivotal role in shaping their team’s fortunes.

Instances of winning both Orange Cap and MVP

While winning either the Orange Cap or the MVP award is a remarkable feat in itself, achieving both distinctions in a single IPL season is exceptionally rare and a testament to a player’s extraordinary talent and impact on the tournament. Over the years, there have been five instances where a player has achieved this remarkable double. These players not only topped the run-scoring charts but also played pivotal roles in their team’s success, elevating their performances to new heights and etching their names in IPL history as true legends of the game.

Also WATCH: Virat Kohli captivates fans with his special message in ‘Kannada’ during the RCB Unbox event

Players winning both Orange Cap and MVP Award in a single edition:

1. Sachin Tendulkar – IPL 2010 (Mumbai Indians)

Sachin Tendulkar (Image Source: Twitter)
  • Mumbai Indians (MI) had a strong campaign in IPL 2010, finishing at the top of the league table with 20 points from 14 matches.
  • Tendulkar led from the front with his consistent batting performances, scoring 618 runs at an average of 47.53 and a strike rate of 132.61.
  • His crucial innings provided stability to the Mumbai’s batting lineup and laid the foundation for many victories.
  • Tendulkar’s leadership qualities and strategic acumen played a vital role in guiding the team to the playoffs and eventually reaching the final.
  • Tendulkar’s remarkable season saw him clinch both the Orange Cap and the MVP accolade, thanks to his stellar batting performances that stood out among his peers.

2. Chris Gayle – IPL 2011 (Royal Challengers Bengaluru)

Chris Gayle
Chris Gayle (Image Source: Twitter)
  • Royal Challengers Bengaluru (IPL) had a mixed campaign in IPL 2011, finishing in the middle of the table with 16 points from 14 matches.
  • Gayle’s arrival midway through the season transformed RCB’s fortunes as he became the centerpiece of their batting lineup.
  • Gayle’s explosive batting style saw him score 608 runs at a staggering strike rate of 183.13, including two centuries and three half-centuries.
  • His match-winning innings single-handedly propelled RCB to crucial victories, keeping their playoff hopes alive and eventually securing a spot in the knockout stage.
  • Gayle’s outstanding displays with the bat not only secured him the Orange Cap but also the prestigious MVP award, underscoring his dominance and match-winning contributions throughout the season.

3. Virat Kohli – IPL 2016 (Royal Challengers Bengaluru)

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli (Image Source: Twitter)
  • RCB had a remarkable campaign in IPL 2016, finishing as runners-up after a thrilling final against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH).
  • Kohli’s batting masterclass was the highlight of RCB’s season as he amassed a record-breaking 973 runs at an astonishing average of 81.08 and a strike rate of 152.03.
  • Kohli’s consistency and ability to anchor the innings while accelerating when needed provided stability to RCB’s batting lineup throughout the tournament.
  • Despite falling short in the final, Kohli’s phenomenal run-scoring spree was instrumental in guiding RCB to the playoffs and propelling them to the summit clash.
  • Kohli’s exceptional season not only pocketed him the Orange Cap but also the MVP award, highlighting his batting prowess and undeniable impact on his team’s campaign.

4. Jos Buttler – IPL 2022 (Rajasthan Royals)

Jos Buttler
Jos Buttler (Image Source: Twitter)
  • Rajasthan Royals (RR) had a strong campaign in IPL 2022, reaching the final but narrowly losing to Gujarat Titans (GT).
  • Buttler emerged as the standout performer for Rajasthan, scoring 863 runs at a phenomenal average of 57.73 and a blistering strike rate of 149.05.
  • His explosive batting at the top of the order provided momentum to Rajasthan’s innings on multiple occasions, setting the stage for big totals.
  • Buttler’s consistency was evident throughout the tournament, as he registered four centuries and four half-centuries, showcasing his ability to convert starts into big scores.
  • Despite his heroics with the bat, Rajasthan fell short in the final, but Buttler’s remarkable season earned him both the Orange Cap for being the tournament’s highest run-scorer and the MVP award.

5. Shubman Gill – IPL 2023 (Gujarat Titans)

Shubman Gill
Shubman Gill (Image Source: Twitter)
  • GT had an impressive campaign in IPL 2023, reaching the final but finishing as runners-up after losing to CSK.
  • Gill was the linchpin of GT’s batting lineup, amassing 890 runs at a staggering average of 59.33 and an electrifying strike rate of 157.80.
  • Gill’s elegant stroke play and ability to score quickly made him a nightmare for opposition bowlers, consistently putting GT in commanding positions.
  • His standout performances included four centuries and three half-centuries, highlighting his penchant for big scores and match-winning contributions.
  • Despite Gill’s heroics with the bat, GT fell short in the final, but his exceptional season obtained him both the Orange Cap and the MVP award for his outstanding batting displays.

Also WATCH: MS Dhoni practices his trademark ‘Helicopter’ shot ahead of CSK’s opening match against RCB in IPL 2024

Leave a Comment