Rohit Sharma Becomes 1st Player To Be Part Of 100 T20I Wins

India captain Rohit Sharma scripted history in the T20I format. He became the first player in the history of the game to be part of the 100 wins for the national team in the shortest format of the game. 

Rohit Sharma achieved the after the first T20I against Afghanistan that took place at the Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali. India completed a dominating 6-wicket win and took a 1-0 lead in the series. 

Rohit Sharma became only the fourth cricketer to be part of the 100 T20I wins. The Indian captain, however, is the first male cricketer to achieve the feat. England Danni Wyatt (111) is the cricketer with the most wins in the shortest format of the game. 

Along with Rohit Sharma, Australia women’s skipper Alyssa Healy and all-rounder Elysse Perry also are players with part of 100 T20I wins. The female duo recently achieved the feat after they guided their team to win against Indian women in the recently concluded WT20I series. 

Rohit Sharma made a comeback to the Indian T20I team after more than one year. He, however, didn’t have the kind of outing he would’ve wanted with the bat. The Indian skipper bagged a two-ball duck as he got run out after a horrible mix-up with Shubman Gill. 

This was Rohit Sharma’s first game since the semi-final of the last T20 World Cup. Although he didn’t turn up with the bat, he was fantastic as a leader and also under him, the team won the game and took the lead in the series. 

India opted to field first and they had a great outing with the ball. They restricted the opposition to a total of 158 runs with Axar Patel being the pick of the bowlers with his figures of 2/23. Mukesh Kumar (2) and Shivam Dube also chipped in. 

In the chase, after Rohit Sharma got out, Shubman Gill (23) played a decent cameo at the top. Tilak Varma (26) and Jitesh Sharma (31) played vital hands but the real blitz came from the bat of Dube. The all-rounder ended with the knock of unbeaten 60 runs and took his team home with 6 wickets in hand. 

IND vs AFG: Part of most wins in Men’s T20Is; Rohit Sharma scripts history 

India captain Rohit Sharma has 100 wins under his belt whereas Shoaib Malik is next on the list with 86 victories to his name. Virat Kohli features in the list with 73 wins whereas Mohammad Hafeez and Mohammad Nabi have 70 wins each. 

Here’s the list of players with most wins in Men’s T20Is

Rohit Sharma: 100
Shoaib Malik: 86
Virat Kohli: 73
Mohammad Hafeez: 70
Mohammad Nabi: 70

Rohit Sharma also joined Ricky Ponting and Vivian Richards as the first players to be part of 100 wins in three formats. While the Australian great was the first cricketer to record 100 wins in the longest format of the game, Richards claimed the feat by becoming the first player to claim a century of wins in the 50-over format.

1st player to be part of 

100 Test Wins – Ricky Ponting
100 ODI Wins – Viv Richards
100 T20I Wins – Rohit Sharma*

Leave a Comment