New Zealand announces T20I squad for Pakistan tour, Michael Bracewell to captain the team

Michael Bracewell has been named captain of a second-string New Zealand squad for their upcoming five-match T20I series against Pakistan, starting April 18. This bilateral series marks Bracewell’s return to international cricket after a lengthy injury layoff.

Michael Bracewell back after injury

The 33-year-old allrounder, known for his spin bowling and power-hitting, has been absent from international action since March 2023. A ruptured Achilles tendon while playing for Worcestershire in the English T20 Blast was followed by a broken finger. Despite these setbacks, Bracewell has battled back and earned a recall.

Bracewell to leading a young squad

Blackcaps selector Sam Wells praised Bracewell’s resilience, highlighting his leadership experience with Wellington and New Zealand A sides. This experience will be crucial as he leads a squad missing several key players currently competing in the IPL 2024.

“Michael has faced a long period on the sideline and it’s exciting to see him back playing cricket again,” said Wells in his official statement.

“The fact he’s back playing at a high level after an Achilles rupture is testament to his hard work and application.

“He’s a well-respected leader and has captaincy experience for Wellington along with New Zealand A and New Zealand XI teams, which we believe holds him in good stead to lead the group in Pakistan,” added Wells.

Tim Robinson, the second-highest run scorer in the recent Super Smash domestic tournament, has received his maiden call-up. Notably, he amassed 298 runs in just six innings, showcasing his explosive potential.

Wells believes Robinson’s natural ability and power hitting, coupled with his fielding prowess, make him well-suited for the T20 format.

“Tim is still very early in his domestic career but his natural ability and explosive power was on full display this season. Combined with his outstanding fielding, we believe he has a skill set that’s well-suited to the format,” the Blackcaps selector added further.

New Zealand’s T20I squad for Pakistan tour:

Michael Bracewell (c), Finn Allen, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Dean Foxcroft, Ben Lister, Cole McConchie, Adam Milne, Jimmy Neesham, Will O’Rourke, Tim Robinson, Ben Sears, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi

Leave a Comment