IPL 2024 all set to begin from March 22 in Chennai

As per a report by Cricbuzz, the 17th edition of the Indian Premier League will kickstart from March 22, 2024, at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. Chennai Super Kings will be playing the opening match of the tournament whereas the final will be played on May 26, 2024. An opening ceremony will also take place ahead of the first match of IPL 2024.

As quoted by Cricbuzz, IPL chairman Arun Dhumal stated that the inaugural match of Indian Premier League 2024 will be held on March 22 in Chennai. BCCI will release the schedule for the 15 days of IPL 2024 on February 22.

Arun Dhumal said, “The league will kick off on March 22 in Chennai”, the CEO of the Chennai Super Kings, Kasi Vishwanathan, as per Cricbuzz, stated that being the defending champions of the tournament, Chennai is getting the privilege to host the inaugural match of the IPL 2024. Kasi further added that there will also be an opening ceremony ahead of the match.

IPL 2024 to begin from March 22 in Chennai: Reports

As per the traditions of the Indian Premier League, the opening match of every IPL season takes place between the finalists of the previous season. There are speculations that Chennai Super Kings may take on Gujarat Titans in the opening match of IPL 2024, however, neither Arun Dhumal nor Kasi Vishwanathan confirmed the news

According to Cricbuzz, Arun Dhumal said, “It has not been finalized yet”, whereas Kasi Vishwanthan also echoed his words and said, “We have no information about the opponents as of now.”

However, the Titans may play in the first game. Dhumal stated that the IPL will release a preliminary schedule in the coming days, with the complete schedule to be released following the announcement of the General Election dates by the Election Commission of India. Dhumal stated, “We will first announce the program for the first 10 to 12 days.”

The entire IPL schedule will be decided upon once the Election Commission releases the nationwide polling dates, which are anticipated to happen in the second or third week of March. The IPL chairman expressed optimism that more than just 10 venues might be involved and that the league won’t need to be relocated outside of the nation to avoid conflicting with the elections.

The final of the tournament will be held on May 26 and is likely to be played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, which is also the world’s largest cricket stadium.

The Indian Premier League has been a platform for young Indian players to showcase their talent on the world stage and also find an opportunity to represent the Indian team. The IPL which follows the motto of ‘yatra pratibha avsar praptonidhi’, which means ‘where talent meets opportunity’, has produced a lot of players such as Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Hardik Pandya.

Chennai Super Kings, who are currently the reigning champions of the tournament will look forward to winning yet another IPL trophy whereas, Mumbai Indians, who are the joint most successful IPL team along with CSK, are also the favorites to lift the trophy. Gujarat Titans, Delhi Capitals, and Lucknow Super Giants cannot be kept aside and will be in contention to lift the trophy. It will not be possible to exclude the Gujarat Titans, Delhi Capitals, and Lucknow Super Giants from contention for the trophy.

Leave a Comment