IND vs ENG: England reveals their playing XI for Rajkot Test with a major change in the bowling department

In a bid to turn the tide in their favour, the England cricket team has revealed a revamped playing XI for the third Test against India that is set to kick off in Rajkot from February 15. The English side has made a significant change in the bowling department, aiming to bounce back after a loss in the second match.

Retained core: No change in batting department

England have chosen to stick with the core of their batting lineup, with Zak Crawley and Ben Duckett maintaining their positions at the top. The middle order will once again rely on the experienced shoulders of Ollie Pope, Joe Root and Jonny Bairstow. Meanwhile, the lower order will feature the dynamic duo of skipper Ben Stokes and wicketkeeper-batter Ben Foakes, both of whom are expected to play pivotal roles in shaping England’s fortunes.

Bowling shakeup: Mark Wood comes in for Shoaib Bashir

The major talking point from England’s announcement is the inclusion of fast bowler Mark Wood, who replaces Shoaib Bashir in the playing XI. Wood had a mixed outing in the opening game of the series and had to sit out in the previous Test in Vizag. However, the team management has shown confidence in the fiery pace and bounce that Wood brings to the table.

At the same time, Rehan Ahmed, Tom Hartley and James Anderson have retained their spots in the bowling department, forming a diverse and potent attack.

Also READ: India’s best playing XI for the last three Tests against England

Stokes’ impending milestone moment

The third Test holds not just series significance but also a personal milestone for England’s charismatic skipper, Stokes. This match will mark his 100th appearance in the Test format, a testament to his enduring contribution to English cricket. Stokes, known for his all-around prowess, will be eager to make this landmark game a memorable one by leading his side to victory.

England’s playing XI for 3rd Test

Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (c), Ben Foakes (wk), Rehan Ahmed, Tom Hartley, Mark Wood, James Anderson

Also READ: England’s best playing XI for the last three Tests against India

Leave a Comment