Gujarat’s Stunning Win vs Karnataka in Ranji Trophy | Siddharth Desai’s Magnificent 7 |

NEW DELHI: Gujarat staged a remarkable turnaround on the final day of their Ranji Trophy Group C clash in Ahmedabad, securing a thrilling six-run victory by bundling out star-studded Karnataka for just 103.
Despite a modest target of 110 runs, Karnataka appeared comfortable at 50 for no loss before a sensational collapse, led by left-arm spinner Siddharth Desai‘s outstanding 7/42.
Supported by off-spinner Rinkesh Vaghela (3/38), Gujarat bowlers orchestrated the dramatic downfall, with Karnataka losing all their wickets for 53 runs in just 17 overs.
This win marked Gujarat’s second consecutive victory, propelling them to the top of the group with 12 points.
Meanwhile, the eight-time champions Karnataka slipped to the third position with six points. Tripura secured the second spot after their drawn match against Tamil Nadu at home.
The turning point came with Mayank Agarwal‘s dismissal in the 10th over, and Desai’s impressive spell exposed poor shot selection from Karnataka batters.
Despite a composed innings from Shubhang Hegde, a stunning catch by wicketkeeper Het Patel dismissed him for 27 (37b) when Karnataka was 18 runs short of the target. The last two wickets fell quickly, sealing Gujarat’s dramatic victory.
Railways garner three points vs Punjab
In Mullanpur, seamer Himanshu Sangwan’s 4/58 in the first innings helped Railways secure first innings lead over Punjab and garnered three points after their drawn match.
Tottering in their overnight score of 93/6, Punjab folded for 178. Abhinav Sharma was their top-scorer with 73 (92b).
Forced to bat again, Punjab showed resilience in their second innings, reaching 53/1 before the match concluded.
Abhishek Sharma (4) fell early to Sangwan, but Prabhsimran Singh (23 not out) and Naman Dhir (26 not out) steadied the ship.
Brief Scores:
In Ahmedabad: Gujarat 264 and 219; 80.2 overs (Umang Kumar 57, Manan Hingrajia 56; Vasuki Koushik 3/16, Rohit Kumar 3/61, Shubhang Hegde 2/90). Karnataka 374 and 103; 26.2 overs (Devdutt Padikkal 31; Siddharth Desai 7/42, Rinkesh Vaghela 3/38). Gujarat won by six runs. Points: Gujarat 6, Karnataka 0.
In Mullanpur: Railways 345. Punjab 178; 47.3 overs (Abhinav Sharma 73; Himanshu Sangwan 4/58, Kunal Yadav 3/59, Yuvraj Singh 2/42) and following on 53/1. Match drawn. Points: Railways 3, Punjab 1.
In Povorim: Goa 618/7 declared and 25 for no loss. Chandigarh 479; 160 overs (Kunal Mahajan 147, Raj Bawa 90, Arslan Khan 84; Darshan Misal 5/110). Match drawn. Points: Goa 3, Chandigarh 1.
In Agartala: Tamil Nadu 143/2 vs Tripura. Match drawn. Points: TN 1, Tripura 1.
(With PTI inputs)

Leave a Comment