Bangladesh name squad for 3rd ODI against Sri Lanka; set to host Zimbabwe for T20I leg ahead of T20 World Cup 2024

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has unveiled their squad for the highly anticipated third and final One Day International (ODI) against Sri Lanka, slated to commence on March 18 in Chattogram. With the series leveled at 1-1 following Sri Lanka’s recent victory, both teams are gearing up for a high-stakes encounter to clinch the series.

Litton Das ousted from the squad

In a significant development, the BCB has decided to drop Litton Das from the squad for the crucial encounter. Das, who has been struggling with his form, has been released on the recommendation of the team management to participate in the ongoing Dhaka Premier League. This decision comes after Das failed to make a substantial impact in the preceding matches against Sri Lanka.

Replacing Das is the talented wicketkeeper-batter Jaker Ali, who showcased his prowess with a commendable knock of 68 runs in the first T20I against Sri Lanka. Ali boasts an impressive track record with 84 List A appearances, accumulating 1918 runs at an average of 34.87. This marks the first instance since 2021 that Das has lost his place in the squad, highlighting the gravity of the decision.

Bangladesh squad for 3rd ODI against Sri Lanka

Najmul Hossain Shanto (captain), Anamul Haque, Soumya Sarkar, Tanzid Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Towhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Mustafizur Rahman, Jaker Ali

Also READ: Sri Lanka ropes in new fast bowling coach for T20 World Cup 2024

T20I Series against Zimbabwe announced ahead of T20 World Cup

In a strategic move to fine-tune their preparations for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024, Bangladesh are set to host Zimbabwe for a five-match T20I series in May. Scheduled just days ahead of the prestigious tournament co-hosted by the USA and the West Indies, the series promises to provide invaluable match practice and insight for the Bangladeshi squad.

Rescheduling of Test series

Additionally, the BCB revealed that the two-match Test series between Bangladesh and Zimbabwe, originally slated for this year, will now be rescheduled to 2025. This decision comes amidst a packed cricketing calendar and aims to ensure adequate preparation and optimal conditions for the Test encounters.

Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe T20I series fixtures

  • First T20I: May 3, Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram
  • Second T20I: May 5, Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram
  • Third T20I: May 7, Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram
  • Fourth T20I: May 10, Shere Bangla Stadium, Dhaka
  • Fifth T20I: May 12, Shere Bangla Stadium, Dhaka

Also READ: Twitter reactions – Pathum Nissanka’s blazing ton powers Sri Lanka to series-levelling win over Bangladesh in 2nd ODI

Leave a Comment